Need an Attorney You Can Count On?
We are proven Criminal Defense Attorneys in Austin, Texas with outstanding track records.
If you're a minor who's been arrested for the possession of alcohol, get the defense you need to beat your charge by working with a Travis County MIP lawyer.
For minors, drinking alcohol and being around it is almost inevitable. Unfortunately, this can land you in hot legal water if you're caught by the police.
If you're under the age of twenty-one and the police catch you in possession, ownership, or control of an alcoholic beverage, you can be charged with minor in possession (MIP).
Once you've been hit with an MIP charge, you may find that everything happens very quickly and can be incredibly confusing. The first thing you should do is contact an experienced Travis County minor in possession lawyer from Hines & Holub.
As a minor, you've got your entire future ahead of you, and our goal will be to get your charge dismissed so that you can go forward without having to worry about any convictions on your record.
Defending Against an MIP Charge
No matter how airtight the prosecution might think their case is, there's likely a weak point just waiting to be exposed. It's not uncommon for MIP charges to be inappropriately assessed, and even if you think your charge is justified, that doesn't mean it has to end in a conviction.
Possible defenses for minor in possession charges include the following:
- Possession of alcohol for work
- Possession of alcohol while in the presence of parents or legal guardians who are over the age of twenty-one
- Possession of alcohol while working with law enforcement
- Possession of alcohol in an emergency situation, like calling 911 for someone suffering a possible alcohol overdose
If this is your first offense, it's highly possible that your charges can be dismissed. This is an uphill battle, however, and you can't expect the judge or prosecutor to go easy on you just because you're a minor.
Working with a Travis County MIP attorney will give you the best chance for clearing your name. Otherwise, you could be facing some serious consequences.
Penalties for a Minor in Possession Conviction
The Alcoholic Beverage Code of Texas states that an MIP charge first offense is a Class C misdemeanor and is punishable by a fine of up to $500, twelve hours of community service, completion of an alcohol awareness class, and a thirty-day drivers license suspension.
If you already have previous MIP convictions on your record, the charge will be increased to a Class B misdemeanor, which could result in the following penalties:
- Fines of up to $2,000
- Up to 180 days in jail
- Drivers license suspension for a minimum of six months
- Twenty to forty hours of community service, with the possibility of more
- Alcohol awareness courses if the judge feels they're necessary
While these charges are misdemeanors and are less harsh than a felony charge would be, they will still tarnish your record and lead to multiple issues down the road when it comes to your personal and professional lives.
Call our on-call attorney now to discuss your case.
No matter how complex your charges may seem, you can have peace of mind knowing our legal team is behind you. You aren’t in this battle alone. Get our Austin criminal attorneys on your side today.